Heating, Ventilation, Air-Conditioning/Refrigeration I/II | Adult & Career Technical Education
Select Page

Heating, Ventilation, Air-Conditioning/Refrigeration I/II

Air Conditioning Refrigeration Heating Course - Heating, Ventilation, Air-Conditioning/Refrigeration I/II

Necessary elements for survival in a civilized world.

Introduction:

The Heating, Ventilation, Air-Conditioning/Refrigeration I/II program provides students with the technical knowledge and skills needed for employment in the industry. Instruction includes a combination of classroom theory and practical experiences. Some of the topics covered in the program include tools, equipment, brazing, basic electricity, compressors, troubleshooting, and installation of a basic system.

Career Opportunities:

  • HVAC Helper

Employment Outlook:

Employment of heating, air conditioning, and refrigeration mechanics and installers is projected to grow 15% from 2016 to 2026.

Salary:

The average wage for this career in Florida is $19.55 hourly or $40,660 annually.

Completion Requirements:

The entire program is 1350 hours. Certain Adult Education Centers do not offer all components of the program.  Full completion of the program may be completed at a Technical College. Students can earn a certificate at the completion of the following Occupational Completion Points (OCPs):

OCPCOURSEHOURS
OCP AIntroduction to HVAC/R250 Hours
OCP BHVAC/R Fundamentals
250 Hours
OCP CHVAC/R Service Practices250 Hours
OCP DHVAC/R Intermediate Service Practices350 Hours
OCP EHVAC/R Advanced Service Practices (formerly ‘Air-Conditioning, Refrigeration and Heating Technician’)

OR

HVAC/R Advanced Commercial and Industrial Service Practices (formerly ‘Refrigeration Mechanic’)
350 Hours
OR
350 Hours
Total Hours: 1350

Location & Course’s Schedule:

This program offers a broad foundation of knowledge in designing, testing, and repairing heating, ventilation, air-conditioning, and cooling (HVAC) systems.  Heating, Ventilation, Air-Conditioning/Refrigeration I/II  is available at the following school (s):

LOCATIONCOURSE'S SCHEDULE
The English Center Monday - Thursday from 6:00 p.m. to 10:15 p.m.
Saturday from 8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
Lindsey Hopkins Technical CollegeMonday - Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.
Monday - Thursday from 5:00 p.m. to 10:15 p.m.
Miami Lakes Educational Center & Technical CollegeMonday - Friday from 7:20 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Monday - Friday from 5:30 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday from 6:30 p.m. - 11:00 p.m. (Part time)
Robert Morgan Educational Center & Technical CollegeMonday - Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.
Monday - Thursday from 5:00 p.m. to 9:15 p.m.
South Dade Technical CollegeMonday - Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.
William H. Turner Technical Arts Adult Education CenterMonday - Thursday from 5:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Contact Information at the Location:

Additional information can be provided by student services:

LOCATIONCOUNSELOR / REGISTRAR EMAILPHONE NUMBER
The English Center
(305) 445-7731
Cecilia Castillo
Juan R. Gonzalez
castilloc@dadeschools.net
jrg2288@dadeschools.net
Ext. 2708
Ext. 2708
Lindsey Hopkins Technical College
(305) 324-6070
Patricia Estiverne
Luis Sanchez
Jacques Lucien
Rose Jasmin
patriciab@dadeschools.net
lsanchez3@dadeschools.net
JDLucien@dadeschools.net
209710@dadeschools.net
Ext. 7089
Ext. 7129
Ext. 7039
Miami Lakes Educational Center & Technical College
(305) 557-1100
Danielle Taylor
Jackie Benjamin
Vanessa Torres
Elizabeth Forero
dtaylor2394@dadeschools.net
jbenjamin1@dadeschools.net
vatorres@dadeschools.net
eforero@dadeschools.net
Ext. 2230
Ext. 2215
Ext. 2250
Ext. 2216
Robert Morgan Educational Center & Technical College
(305) 253-9920
Mirtha Silverang
Maria Ruiz
Kathy Pearson
Irene Montoto
msilverang@dadeschools.net
millieruiz@dadeschools.net
kpearson@dadeschools.net
irenemontoto@dadeschools.net
Ext. 2145
Ext. 2147
Ext. 2159
Ext. 2150
South Dade Technical College
(305) 247-7839
Osar de Leonodeleon@dadeschools.netExt. 2111
William H. Turner Technical Arts Adult Education Center
(305) 691-8324
Valarie B. Johnson
Gia Jones
Martha Pinell
Julia Innocent
vbjohnson@dadeschools.net
sapphire@dadeschools.net
marthapinell@dadeschools.net
jinnocent@dadeschools.net

Source

Construction