Pharmacy Technician | Adult & Career Technical Education
Select Page

Pharmacy Technician

Pharmacy Technician Course - Pharmacy Technician

Supervised by a licensed pharmacist.

Introduction:

Pharmacy technician’s duties include measuring, weighing and mixing medical drugs; preparing and labeling medicines. Regulation in issuing medicine to customers, maintaining inventory, and keeping patient medication profilers of specific records or computerized systems are essential elements of training. 

Career Opportunities:

  • Pharmacy Technician

Employment Outlook:

Employment of pharmacy technicians is projected to grow 12% from 2016 to 2026. 

Salary:

The average wage for this career is $14.99 per hour or $31,180 annually.

Completion Requirements:

The entire program is 1050 hours. Certain Adult Education Centers do not offer all components of the program.  Full completion of the program may be completed at a Technical College. Students can earn a certificate at the completion of the following Occupational Completion Points (OCPs):

OCPCOURSEHOURS
OCP ABasic Healthcare Worker90 Hours
OCP BPharmacy Technician 1
Pharmacy Technician 2
Pharmacy Technician 3
360 Hours
300 Hours
300 Hours

Total Hours: 1050

Location & Course’s Schedule:

Pharmacy Technician is available at the following school (s):

LOCATIONCOURSE'S SCHEDULE
D.A. Dorsey Technical CollegeMonday - Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 1:45 p.m.
Miami Lakes Educational Center & Technical CollegeMonday - Thursday from 4:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.
Hialeah Adult Education CenterMonday - Thursday from 5:30 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.
South Dade Technical CollegeMonday - Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

Contact Information at the Location:

Additional information can be provided by student services:

LOCATIONCOUNSELOR / REGISTRAR EMAILPHONE NUMBER
D.A. Dorsey Technical College
(305) 693-2490
Jackie Benjamin
Don Hylor Jr.
jbenjamin1@dadeschools.net
mrhylor@dadeschools.net
Ext. 2171
Ext. 2172
Miami Lakes Educational Center & Technical College
(305) 557-1100
Danielle Taylor
Jackie Benjamin
Vanessa Torres
Elizabeth Forero
dtaylor2394@dadeschools.net
jbenjamin1@dadeschools.net
vatorres@dadeschools.net
eforero@dadeschools.net
Ext. 2230
Ext. 2215
Ext. 2250
Ext. 2216
Hialeah Adult Education Center
(305) 822-1500
Maria Lopez
John Miranda
Gillian Carrasco
marialopez@dadeschools.net
049434@dadeschools.net
gcarrasco@dadeschools.net
Ext. 2210
Ext. 2238
Ext. 2917
South Dade Technical College
(305) 248-5723
Oscar de Leonodeleon@dadeschools.netExt. 2111

 

Source

Healthcare Occupations