Cosmetology | Adult & Career Technical Education
Select Page

Cosmetology

Cosmetology Course - Cosmetology

Offers the perfect canvas for painting the latest trends in setting styles and fashions.

Introduction:

From the fast-paced area of South Beach to the most luxurious spa-cosmetology prepares the student for all aspects of the industry. Students will encounter the science, theory, and practical-art applications of hair shaping and design, as well as chemical services which include permanent waving, coloring, and hair relaxing. Students will also receive instruction in the latest facial and nail-care design and techniques. Hair removal and hair extensions are also part of the curriculum. Entrepreneurial skills are an integral part of this course.

Career Opportunities:

Once licensed, the cosmetologist may enter, but is not limited to, any of the following areas of the beauty industry:

  • Hairdresser
  • Nail Technician
  • Esthetician
  • Makeup Artist
  • Retail Specialist
  • Platform Artist
  • Salon Owner
  • Spa Owner
  • Salon or Spa Specialist

Employment Outlook:

Employment of barbers, hairstylists, and cosmetologists is projected to grow 13% from 2016 to 2026.

Salary:

The average wage for this career in Florida is $15.37 hourly or $31,980 annually.

Completion Requirements: 

The entire program is 1200 hours. Certain Adult Education Centers do not offer all components of the program.  Full completion of the program may be completed at a Technical College. Students can earn a certificate at the completion of the following Occupational Completion Points (OCPs):

OCPCOURSEHOURS
OCP AGrooming and Salon Services Core, Facial and Nails
Cosmetologist and Hairdresser 1
Cosmetologist and Hairdresser 2
Cosmetologist and Hairdresser 3
225 Hours
300 Hours
300 Hours
375 Hours
Total Hours: 1200

Location & Course’s Schedule:

Cosmetology is available at the following school (s):

LOCATIONCOURSE'S SCHEDULE
The English Center
Monday - Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 3:15 p.m.
Monday - Thursday from 3:45 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.
Miami Lakes Educational Center & Technical CollegeMonday - Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 1:40 p.m.
North Miami Adult Education Center
Monday - Thursday from 3:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.
Robert Morgan Educational Center & Technical CollegeMonday - Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.
Monday - Thursday from 6:00 p.m. to 10:15 p.m.
South Dade Technical CollegeMonday - Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.
Southwest Adult Education CenterMonday - Thursday from 3:30 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.

Note: Instruction avaialble in English and Spanish in Southwest Adult Education Center.

Contact Information at the Location:

Additional information can be provided by student services:

LOCATIONCOUNSELOR / REGISTRAR EMAILPHONE NUMBER
The English Center
(305) 445-7731
Cecilia Castillo
Patricia Rosh
castilloc@dadeschools.net
pmrosh@dadeschools.net
Ext. 2708
Ext. 2708
Miami Lakes Educational Center and Technical College
(305) 557-1100
Danielle Taylor
Jackie Benjamin
Vanessa Torres
Elizabeth Forero
dtaylor2394@dadeschools.net
jbenjamin1@dadeschools.net
vatorres@dadeschools.net
eforero@dadeschools.net
Ext. 2230
Ext. 2215
Ext. 2250
Ext. 2216
North Miami Adult Education Center
(305) 981-6774
Michelle Gilles
Sylvia Francois
mmgilles@dadeschools.net
sylviaf@dadeschools.net
Ext. 2196
Ext. 2380
Robert Morgan Educational Center & Technical College
(305) 253-9920
Mirtha Silverang
Maria Ruiz
Kathy Pearson
Irene Montoto
msilverang@dadeschools.net
millieruiz@dadeschools.net
kpearson@dadeschools.net
irenemontoto@dadeschools.net
Ext. 2145
Ext. 2147
Ext. 2159
Ext. 2150
South Dade Technical College
(305) 248-5723
Oscar de Leonodeleon@dadeschools.netExt. 2111
Southwest Adult Education Center
(305) 274-0181
Josefa Rodriguez
Yamile Reyes
jrodriguez09@dadeschools.net
reyesyamile@dadeschools.net
Ext. 2243

 

Source

Personal Services