Professional Culinary Arts & Hospitality | Adult & Career Technical Education
Select Page

Professional Culinary Arts & Hospitality

Culinary Arts and Baking Course - Professional Culinary Arts & Hospitality

Express your creativity with food.

Introduction:

This program prepares students for employment as cooks and/or assistant pastry chefs in the hospitality industry. Supplemental training is provided for persons previously or currently employed in culinary occupations. The course includes food preparation and food serving. Baking and cake decorating techniques are also a part of the program. Training in communication, leadership, human relations, and safe efficient work practices completes the skill set in this field.

Employment Opportunities:

Commercial foods and culinary arts program graduates may work in restaurants, health facilities, housing facilities hotels, and other hospitality related industries. Employment for chefs and head cooks is projected to grow 9 percent from 2014 to 2024, about as fast as the average for all occupations.

Career Opportunities:

  • Food Server
  • Salad Chef
  • Garde Manager
  • Utility Cook
  • Breakfast Cook
  • Line Cook
  • Sous Chef
  • Executive Chef
  • Baker
  • Cake Decorator
  • Pastry Chef
  • Research and Development Chef

Employment Outlook:

Employment of chefs and head cooks is projected to grow 10% from 2016 to 2026.

Salary:

The average wage for this career in Florida is $27.20 hourly or $56,570 annually.

Completion Requirements:

The entire program is 1200 hours. Certain Adult Education Centers do not offer all components of the program.  Full completion of the program may be completed at a Technical College. Students can earn a certificate at the completion of the following Occupational Completion Points (OCPs):

OCPCOURSEHOURS
OCP AFood Preparation300 Hours
OCP BCook, Restaurant300 Hours
OCP CChef/Head Cook300 Hours
OCP DFood Service Management300 Hours
Total Hours: 1200

Location & Course’s Schedule:

Professional Culinary Arts & Hospitality is available at the following school (s):

LOCATIONCOURSE'S SCHEDULE
Lindsey Hopkins Technical CollegeMonday - Friday from 7:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Monday - Thursday from 5:00 p.m. to 10:15 p.m.
Miami Lakes Educational Center & Technical CollegeMonday - Friday from 7:20 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Robert Morgan Educational Center & Technical CollegeMonday - Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

Contact Information at the Location:

Additional information can be provided by student services:

LOCATIONCOUNSELOR / REGISTRAR EMAILPHONE NUMBER
Lindsey Hopkins Technical College
(305) 324-6070
Patricia Estiverne
Luis Sanchez
Jacques Lucien
Rose Jasmin
patriciab@dadeschools.net
lsanchez3@dadeschools.net
JDLucien@dadeschools.net
209710@dadeschools.net
Ext. 7089
Ext. 7129
Ext. 7039
Miami Lakes Educational Center & Technical College
(305) 557-1100
Danielle Taylor
Jackie Benjamin
Vanessa Torres
Elizabeth Forero
dtaylor2394@dadeschools.net
jbenjamin1@dadeschools.net
vatorres@dadeschools.net
eforero@dadeschools.net
Ext. 2230 (Morning)
Ext. 2215 (Afternoon)
Ext. 2250 (Morning)
Ext. 2216 (Afternoon)
Robert Morgan Educational Center & Technical College
(305) 253-9920
Mirtha Silverang
Maria Ruiz
Kathy Pearson
Irene Montoto
msilverang@dadeschools.net
millieruiz@dadeschools.net
kpearson@dadeschools.net
irenemontoto@dadeschools.net
Ext. 2145
Ext. 2147
Ext. 2159
Ext. 2150

Source

 

​Commercial Foods, Culinary Arts & Baking